Pulitzer Prize Winners for Poetry

It is hard to cross poetry off a list. Mostly because one read is not enough; one full, thorough reading of a set of poems requires history lessons, emotional perspective, and some discussion of imagery. There is never an end to good poetry. But, for the sake of time, when I feel that I’ve fully read one of these chronicles, I will cross it off. Enjoy the list below.

Pulitzer Prize Winning Poetry (1918-present)

2013 Stag’s Leap by Sharon Olds
2012 Life on Mars by Tracy K. Smith
2011 The Best of It: New and Selected Poems by Kay Ryan
2010 Versed by Rae Armantrout
2009 The Shadow of Sirius by W.S. Merwin
2008 Time and Materials by Robert Hass
2008 Failure by Philip Schultz
2007 Native Guard by Natasha Trethewey
2006 Late Wife by Claudia Emerson
2005 Delights & Shadows by Ted Kooser
2004 Walking to Martha’s Vineyard by Franz Wright
2003 Moy Sand and Gravel by Paul Muldoon
2002 Practical Gods by Carl Dennis
2001 Different Hours by Stephen Dunn
2000 Repair by C.K. Williams
1999 Blizzard of One by Mark Strand
1998 Black Zodiac by Charles Wright
1997 Alive Together: New and Selected Poems by Lisel Mueller
1996 The Dream of the Unified Field by Jorie Graham
1995 The Simple Truth by Philip Levine
1994 Neon Vernacular: New and Selected Poems by Yusef Komunyakaa
1993 The Wild Iris by Louise Gluck
1992 Selected Poems by James Tate
1991 Near Changes by Mona Van Duyn
1990 The World Doesn’t End by Charles Simic
1989 New and Collected Poems by Richard Wilbur
1988 Partial Accounts: New and Selected Poems by William Meredith
1987 Thomas and Beulah by Rita Dove
1986 The Flying Change by Henry Taylor
1985 Yin by Carolyn Kizer
1984 American Primitive by Mary Oliver
1983 Selected Poems by Galway Kinnell
1982 The Collected Poems by the late Sylvia Plath
1981 The Morning of the Poem by James Schuyler
1980 Selected Poems by Donald Justice
1979 Now and Then by Robert Penn Warren
1978 Collected Poems by Howard Nemerov
1977 Divine Comedies by James Merrill
1976 Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror by John Ashbery
1975 Turtle Island by Gary Snyder
1974 The Dolphin by Robert Lowell
1973 Up Country by Maxine Kumin
1972 Collected Poems by James Wright
1971 The Carrier of Ladders by William S. Merwin
1970 Untitled Subjects by Richard Howard
1969 Of Being Numerous by George Oppen
1968 The Hard Hours by Anthony Hecht
1967 Live or Die by Anne Sexton
1966 Selected Poems by Richard Eberhart
1965 77 Dream Songs by John Berryman
1964 At The End Of The Open Road by Louis Simpson
1963 Pictures from Brueghel by the late William Carlos Williams
1962 Poems by Alan Dugan
1961 Times Three: Selected Verse From Three Decades by Phyllis McGinley
1960 Heart’s Needle by W. D. Snodgrass
1959 Selected Poems 1928-1958 by Stanley Kunitz
1958 Promises: Poems 1954-1956 by Robert Penn Warren
1957 Things of This World by Richard Wilbur
1956 Poems – North & South by Elizabeth Bishop
1955 Collected Poems by Wallace Stevens
1954 The Waking by Theodore Roethke
1953 Collected Poems 1917-1952 by Archibald MacLeish
1952 Collected Poems by Marianne Moore
1951 Complete Poems by Carl Sandburg
1950 Annie Allen by Gwendolyn Brooks
1949 Terror and Decorum by Peter Viereck
1948 The Age of Anxiety by W. H. Auden
1947 Lord Weary’s Castle by Robert Lowell
1945 V-Letter and Other Poems by Karl Shapiro
1944 Western Star by the late Stephen Vincent Benet
1943 A Witness Tree by Robert Frost
1942 The Dust Which Is God by William Rose Benet
1941 Sunderland Capture by Leonard Bacon
1940 Collected Poems by Mark Van Doren
1939 Selected Poems by John Gould Fletcher
1938 Cold Morning Sky by Marya Zaturenska
1937 A Further Range by Robert Frost
1936 Strange Holiness by Robert P. Tristram Coffin
1935 Bright Ambush by Audrey Wurdemann
1934 Collected Verse by Robert Hillyer
1933 Conquistador by Archibald Macleish
1932 The Flowering Stone by George Dillon
1931 Collected Poems by Robert Frost
1930 Selected Poems by Conrad Aiken
1929 John Browns Body by Stephen Vincent Benet
1928 Tristram by Edwin Arlington Robinson
1927 Fiddler’s Farewell by Leonora Speyer
1926 What’s O’Clock by the late Amy Lowell
1925 The Man Who Died Twice by Edwin Arlington Robinson
1924 New Hampshire: A Poem with Notes and Grace Notes by Robert Frost
1923 The Ballad of the Harp-Weaver: A Few Figs from Thistles: Eight Sonnets in American Poetry
1922. A Miscellany by Edna St. Vincent Millay
1922 Collected Poems by Edwin Arlington Robinson
1919 Corn Huskers by Carl Sandburg
1919 Old Road to Paradise by Margaret Widdemer
1918 Love Songs by Sara Teasdale


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s