National Book Award Winners and Finalists (1950s Fiction)

Winner: The Man with the Golden Arm by Nelson Algren

Winners: The Collected Stories of William Faulkner by William Faulkner
The Trouble of One House by Brendan Gill

Winner: From Here to Eternity by James Jones
Finalists: The Morning Watch by James Agee
The Grass Harp by Truman Capote
Requiem for a Num by William Faulkner
The Strange Children by Carolina Gordon
The Holy Sinner by Thomas Mann
Melville Goodwin USA by John P. Marquand
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Lie Down in Darkness by William Styron
The Witch Diggers by Jessamyn West
The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk

Winner: Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
Finalists: Many Mansions by Isabel Bolton
Winds of Morning by H.L. Davis
The Gathering Darkness by Thomas Gallagher
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemmingway
Jefferson Selleck by Carl Jonas
The Landsman by Peter Martin
A Shower of Summer Days by May Sarton
The Catherine Wheel by Jean Stafford
East of Eden by John Steinbeck
The Build-Up by William Carlos Williams

Winner: The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow

Winner: A Fable by William Faulkner
Finalists: The Dollmaker by Harriette Arrow
The View from Pompey’s Head by Hamilton Basso
The Night of the Hunter by Davis Grubb
Pictures from an Institution by Randall Jarrell
The Last Hunt by Milton Lott
Lord Grizzly by Frederick Manfred
The Bad Seed by William March
The Huge Season by Wright Morris
The Courts of Memory by Frank Rooney
Sweet Thursday by John Steinbeck

Winner: Ten North Frederick by John O’Hara
Finalists: The Spider’s House by Paul Bowles
The Black Prince by Shirley Ann Grau
Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor
A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Connor
Faithful are the Wounds by May Sarton
Band of Angels by Robert Penn Warren
The Bride of Innisfallen by Eudora Welty
Marjorie Morningstar by Herman Wouk

Winner: The Field of Vision
Finalists: Walk on the Wild Side by Nelson Algren
Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin
Seize the Day by Saul Bellow
Greenwillow by B.J. Chute
These Thousand Years by A.B. Guthrie
A Single Pebble by John Hersey
Generations of Men by John Hunt
The Last Hurrah by Edwin O’Connor
The Presence of Grace by J.F. Powers
The Voice at the Back Door by Elizabeth Spencer
Further Fables of Our Time by James Thurber

Winner: The Wapshot Chronicle by John Cheever
Finalists: A Death in the Family by James Agee
By Love Possessed by James Gould Cozzens
Something About a Soldier by Mark Harris
The Velvet Horn by Andrew Lytle
The Assistant by Bernard Malamud
Love Among the Cannibals by Wright Morris
Pnin by Vladimir Nabokov
Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
The Return of Lady Brace by Nancy Wilson Ross
The Birth of a Grandfather by May Sarton

Winner: The Magic Barrel by Bernard Malamud
Finalists: The Ginger Man by J.P. Donleavy
Home from the Hill by William Humphrey
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
From the Terrace by John O’Hara
The Lost Country by J.R. Salamanca
The Winthrop Woman by Anya Seton
Anatomy of a Murder by Robert Travers


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s