National Book Award (Fiction 1960s)

Winners and Finalists

Winner: Goodbye, Columbus by Philip Roth
Finalists: Pursuit of the Prodigal by Louis Auchincloss
The Light Infantry Ball by Hamilton Basso
Henderson the Rain King by Saul Bellow
Mrs. Bridge by Evan S. Connell, Jr.
The Mansion by William Faulkner
Wake Up, Stupid by Mark Harris
The War Lover by John Hersey
Men Die by H.L. Humes
THe Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
The Third Choice by Elizabeth Janeway
The Pistol by James Jones
The Cool World by Warren Miller
Malcolm by James Purdy
The Return of H*Y*M*A*N K*A*P*L*A*N*
The Poorhouse Fair by John Updike
The Cave by Robert Penn Warren
The Devil’s Advocate by Morris West

Winner: The Waters of Kronos by Conrad Richter
Finalists: The House of Five Talents by Louis Auchincloss
Generation Without Farewell by Kay Boyle
The Child Buyer by John Hersey
A Separate Peace by John Knowles
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Ceremony in Lone Tree by Wright Morris
The Violent Bear it Away by Flannery O’Connor
The Light in the Piazza and Other Italian Tales by Elizabeth Spencer
The Christening Party by Francis Steegmuller
Rabbit, Run by John Updike
The Body of a Young Man by Mildred Walker

Winner: The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
Finalists: False Entry by Hortense Calisher
Among the Dangs by George P. Elliott
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
A New Life by Bernard Malamud
The Chateau by William Maxwell
Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger
The Spinoza of Market Street and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer
The Pawnbroker by Edward Lewis Wallant
The Morning and the Evening by Joan Williams
Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates

Winner: Morte D’Urban by J.F. Powers
Finalists: Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov
Ship of Fools by Katherine Anne Porter
The Golden Spur by Dawn Powell
Going Away by Clancy Sigal
Pigeon Feathers and Other Stories by John Updike

Winner: The Centaur by John Updike
Finalists: Idiots First by Bernard Malamud
The Group by Mary McCarthy
V by Thomas Pynchon
The Will by Harvey Swados

Winner: Oysters of Locmariaquer by Eleanor Clark
Finalists: Life of the Drama by Eric Bentley
The Theater of Revolt by Robert Brustein
Because I Was Flesh by Edward Dahlberg
Shadow and Act by Ralph Ellison
O Strange New World: American Culture, the Formative Years by Howard Mumford Jones

Winner: Paris Journal, 1944-1965 by Janet Flanner
Finalists: Starting Out in the Thirties by Alfred Kazin
Trials of the Work by R.W.B. Lewis
The Myth and the Powerhouse by Phillip Rahv
Beyond Culture by Lionel Trilling
History of Modern Criticism by Rene Wellek

Winner: Mr. Clemens and Mark Twain: A Biography by Justin Kaplan
Finalists: Daumier by Oliver Larkin
James Boswell: The Earlier Years by Frederick A. Pottle
In My Father’s Court by Isaac Bashevis Singer
Against Interpretation by Susan Sontag
Robert Frost: The Early Years by Lawrence Thompson

Winner: Selected Essays by William Troy
Finalists: A Primer of Ignorance by R.P. Blackmur
Stop-Time by Frank Conroy
Music, The Arts and Ideas by Leonard B. Meyer
The New Poets by M.L. Rosenthal
Beardsley by Stanley Weintraub

Winner: The Armies of the Night: History as a Novel, The Novel as History by Norman Mailer
Finalists: Men in Dark Times by Hannah Arendt
Weimar Culture by Peter Gay
George Eliot by Gordon S. Haight
Victorian Minds by Gertrude Himmelfarb


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s